View Menu

chris tietjen-sieben cd (cocoon)

Price: $16.99


chris tietjen: sieben

The itchy seventh year can obviously do no harm to Chris Tietjen. With his usual aplomb, the DJ from Frankfurt compiles the gems of the last twelve months of Cocoon Recordings into a fulminant tour de force, and once again, it's not until this 77-minute-long overall picture that it becomes clear how many superb club moments have accumulated in the Cocoon record case in the past year. Of course, Maetrik's dark and deep particle house "Crush On Me" plays a significant role here, but also Nick Curly's analog bass-driven hi-energy attack "Sun City" was ranked quite high in 2011's reader's charts in Groove Magazine. Besides that, we find Pele's dub tech monster out of Rosenheim ("Nothing Else"), the thrilling rework of Guy Gerber's classic "Timing" by the two Athens-based DJs Kassey Voorn and Pete McCarthy, Dinky's surprisingly dirty and song-like declaration of love from the K compilation ("Lovin") and, of course, the Ibiza anthem 2011 by Boys Noize ("Adonis") can't be ignored here, too. Tietjen's special DJ quality is once again obvious in his habitually unpretentious DJ mix that nevertheless always has the arc of suspense in focus and respectfully leaves the tracks the compositional air to breathe but gives you the final kick right through the combination of the tracks. And this is exactly the reason why Tietjen has turned from a promising newcomer from the Rhein-Main area to one of the most formative DJs in Europe. Other artists include: Ross Evana, Ilario Alicante, Santé & Frank Lorber, Christian Burkhardt & Einzelkind, youANDme, Junyamabe and David August.

You might also be interested in...

© 2015, llc.