View Menu

lake ruth-actual entity lp (great pop supplement)

Price: $13.99
Sold out!

lake ruth: actual entity

Lake Ruth was formed in 2015 by multi-instrumentalist Hewson Chen of The New Lines, drummer Matt Schulz and vocalist Allison Brice, best known for her prior work with UK groups The Eighteenth Day of May and The Silver Abduction. With a unique sound rooted in 1960s experimentation, the trio blends elements of baroque pop, pysch, kraut, jazz and electronic music – resulting in rhythmically propulsive tunes, rich with multilayered guitars, modular synths and atmospheric vocals. The nine songs of ‘Actual Entity’ are highly varied in style yet sonically cohesive, ranging from cinematic Italian soundscapes and post-C86 pop anthems to delicate English folk songs and extended motorik jams. The album’s title ‘Actual Entity’ is a reference to the Process Philosophy of Alfred North Whitehead, and alludes to the fluid nature of reality. It’s songs are populated with a collection of marginal characters – the dispossessed, the isolated and the dead. An artificial intelligence losing its mind during an endless winter. A necromancer unable to raise the dead. The revolt of nature against industrialism. The ghost of a vengeful mother forever hunting down her daughter’s murderer. A Victorian physician desperate to save a dying community.

You might also be interested in...

© 2021, llc.