View Menu

tom recchion-proscenium lp+7 (elevator bath)

Price: $24.99


tom recchion: proscenium

Elevator Bath is absolutely thrilled to present Proscenium, Tom Recchion's eagerly awaited new LP and his first solo album in six years. Proscenium is a subtle and remarkably controlled collection of atmospheres. The air of mystery, deliberate pacing, the deep tones and unidentified sounds of Recchion's 2006 album Sweetly Doing Nothing have been explored even further here. It's a logical development but the results are unexpected and strikingly original, sounding wholly unfamiliar and yet like no one's but Tom Recchion's. Proscenium's six pieces mostly began life as music for filmmaker/puppeteer Janie Geiser's play "Invisible Glass," an adaptation of Poe's "William Wilson." The play's intricate beauty and the story's moody confusion have been perfectly mirrored and expanded on by Recchion who used that inspiration as a leaping off point for Proscenium's rich and surprising compositions. "It was an attempt to create a sound world for the viewer that started as they entered the theater and drenched them until they left in an ongoing series of atmospheres." Tom Recchion has been a sound and visual artist/composer/art director and graphic designer in California since the 1970s. He is the co-creator of the legendary Los Angeles Free Music Society (LAFMS) and has collaborated with David Toop, Christian Marclay, Oren Ambarchi, Keiji Haino, and Max Eastley, among many others. Though Proscenium is only his sixth album as a solo artist, Recchion has had many recordings released by labels such as Birdman, Touch, PSF, RRR, Idea, Staubgold, and the Cortical Foundation. He has also written for The Wire magazine. Tom Recchion lives in California. Proscenium consists of one 180-gram virgin vinyl LP inside a black poly-lined sleeve, plus 7" record, each with five-color labels, housed in a full-color gatefold jacket. Included with each copy of this set is a full-color download card featuring access to high-quality MP3s of the complete contents of the vinyl records. Package imagery was created by artist Pae White and photographed by Recchion’s long time music and visual collaborator, noted photographer Fredrik Nilsen and was designed by Colin Andrew Sheffield and Tom Recchion. This package has been issued in an edition of 500 copies.

You might also be interested in...

© 2020, llc.